Book Review: Little Love Letters from God by Glenys Nellist

My Rating: 5 stars

lllfG.jpg

This hardcover book has absolutely stunning illustrations on every single page. My three-year-old loved to read it, and I loved the easy-to-read rhymes and rhythms that told simple and popular accounts from the Bible. A lot of children’s books try to rhyme and do it badly. This is not that type of book. It is expertly written and expertly illustrated; a beautiful addition to any bookshelf. I also liked that this book contained quick and easy Scripture verses that could be easily taught and memorized. One hesitation I had about the book was the individualized letters supposedly written to the child by God Himself. (“Dear________” –fill in your child’s name.) I get the point of them, but toddlers are very literal, and I’m hesitant to lead my son to believe that God actually wrote those letters to him, because obviously the author of the book wrote them. However, that’s a minor point, the idea behind each letter is biblical and sound, and it may just be a “me thing,” so I don’t expect everyone to have the same reservations. All in all, this was a great book to add to our other children’s Bible books, and I anticipate my son picking it over and over again to be read to him at bedtime.

Leave a Reply

