Indie Reviews for 2014

I thought it might be fun to revisit all the quality indie books I read and reviewed this year. If these books look good to you, please check them out by either downloading a free sample to your Kindle, borrowing them from the Kindle library, or ordering a digital or paperback copy. (If some of these aren’t indies, I apologize, I tried to delete all the traditionally published reviews, but I may have missed one.)

In the Enemy's Service
In the Enemy’s Service
by Annie Douglass Lima
Edition: Paperback
Price: $11.65
11 used & new from $9.65

5.0 out of 5 stars You Have to Read This Book!, March 29, 2014
Could not put it down! I read the book on a laptop, which is not ideal for reading, but I just couldn’t stop. This book has suspense, drama, mystery, espionage, intrigue…everything that makes for a good story. The writing was so well done that you can lose yourself in the time period and forget you are just sitting on your couch staring at a screen. Talented author, would definitely recommend any of her books and would love to read more from her in the future!
(I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.)
Flashes of Fiction (Volume 1)
Flashes of Fiction (Volume 1)
Price: $0.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, June 8, 2014
These short stories were fast and fun to read. This book was chock full of interesting concepts, and I’d like to see some of the ideas be made into longer books sometime. With there were more of them in this volume, but there’s a volume 2 now, so I’ll just have to read that too!

QR Code Killer
QR Code Killer
Price: $0.00

5.0 out of 5 stars Clean Romance, Not A Mystery Thriller, June 2, 2014
This review is from: QR Code Killer (Kindle Edition)
Because of the title and the cover art, I thought this book was going to be more about a mystery and suspenseful cop scenes, but it ended up being more of a romance novel– a good novel though, so I happily threw out my preconceived notions and embraced the book for what it was: a cute story with a happy ending. Yes, I did have suspicions of the killer’s identity before the detective figured it out, but the story wasn’t meant to be a detective novel, it’s a love story. I’d like to read more of this author in the future.

Brides and Betrayal (Reconciled and Redeemed Book 1)
Brides and Betrayal (Reconciled and Redeemed Book 1)
Price: $0.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, May 27, 2014
This book brought up a subject matter that not many in the Christian realm talk about- adultery. A great picture of God’s love, and a modern day reminder of the book of Hosea in the Bible, where an adulterous wife is taken back by her husband though she caused him much pain, this book makes an interesting read.

The Secret (The Scinegue Series Book 1)
The Secret (The Scinegue Series Book 1)
Price: $0.00

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Start, May 24, 2014
This book had a good plot, interesting sci-fi stuff, completely believable characters, and exciting plot twists that you’re not expecting. The writing style wasn’t quite there for me, but I guess you’d have to read it for yourself to be the judge. I really wanted to see what happened next and how everything got resolved in the end. Try it, and if you like it, there are a few more books in the series as well.

The Fargenstropple Case (Terrence Morgan Mysteries Book 1)
The Fargenstropple Case (Terrence Morgan Mysteries Book 1)
Price: $0.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Funny, May 23, 2014
I can’t help but recommend this quick, fun, and funny read to anyone needing a laugh and a break from reality! Clever, witty, authentic, and humorous, The Fargenstropple Case will have you hooked from page one and will keep you guessing until the very end!

Prince of Malorn (Annals of Alasia Book 3)
Prince of Malorn (Annals of Alasia Book 3)
Price: $3.03

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Must Read These Books!, May 15, 2014
I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
All three of the Annals of Alasia books are fantastic! Prince of Malorn has action, suspense, adventure, tragedy, and humor.
At first, I thought the book started a little slow, but that was just because I was expecting it to start with the heat of the invasion like the other two books in the series did. But, in the end, the rite of passage and the Mountain Folk introduction was a really interesting and deep part of the book.
Each story in this series is a stand-alone novel, but it is very fun to read all three and see different perspectives of the same story. The accuracy between the novels is amazing, and it’s also incredible that one can read the same story three times and never have a dull moment- even when you think you know how things will be wrapped up!
Lima is a master of her craft, and I will be looking for anything and everything this author puts out there in the future. I highly suggest you do the same!
Mermaid's Kiss
Mermaid’s Kiss
Price: $0.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Concept, May 8, 2014
This would be a good book for 6-8 year old kids to read. Cute idea, but some illustrations would have greatly enhanced the story. A little simplistic, and there were some typos that I hope get fixed very soon, but what little kid wouldn’t appreciate a book about a curious magical mermaid?
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 16, 2014 6:49 PM PDT

Prince of Alasia
Prince of Alasia
by Annie Douglass Lima
Edition: Paperback
Price: $8.98
13 used & new from $4.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book!, April 16, 2014
This review is from: Prince of Alasia (Paperback)
The whole Annals of Alasia series is awesome. I think they would make an absolutely amazing movie. The details and the painstaking depth that Annie Douglass Lima puts into her works are admirable. Looking forward to more excellent novels from this author!

The Quill Pen
The Quill Pen
Price: $3.99

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was a great book that anyone over eight would love to read, August 16, 2014
This review is from: The Quill Pen (Kindle Edition)
This was a great book that anyone over eight would love to read. It was very well written and held my interest throughout The main character was believable and I felt his pain and anguish with his strained relationship with his father and his typical 12-year-old struggles. I recommend this book to anyone who likes history, fantasy, or mystery. Well done!

There's a Goat on My Porch (The Adventures of Vicky Van Goat) (Volume 1)
There’s a Goat on My Porch (The Adventures of Vicky Van Goat) (Volume 1)
by Ellie Mae Kay
Edition: Paperback
Price: $9.99
16 used & new from $8.08

4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Book, August 11, 2014
My two year old liked this book and wanted it read to him again. The pictures are awesome, the rhyming and the concept are both cute. Sometimes the rhymes seemed to be a little forced or awkward, and I think they could have been re-worded to not sound that way, but overall, this is a cute book that kids will love.
The Best Is Yet to Come: A Romantic Comedy (The Best Girls Book 0)
The Best Is Yet to Come: A Romantic Comedy (The Best Girls Book 0)
Price: $0.00

4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Romance, July 28, 2014
This was a cute romance story. Short and sweet, romantic and enjoyable. Seems like it will be a very interesting series following this story. Can’t wait to see what happens next!

Resistance (Ilyon Chronicles Book 1)
Resistance (Ilyon Chronicles Book 1)
Price: $3.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Perfection, July 28, 2014
I don’t really consider myself a fantasy reader, but I will watch fantasy movies. This book, however, was so expertly written that I felt like I was actually watching a movie instead of reading a book. I saw every tree branch, heard every whisper, felt every bead of sweat dripping down the character’s faces, and clenched my stomach when peril threatened to undo all their hard work. It was that excellent!
Another thing to note: I never found a single typo or grammatical error while reading, which I don’t remember ever saying about a book before. There is a 100% chance that I’ll be reading the upcoming books in this series. Keep doing what you’re doing, Jaye Knight, this right here is what you were made for! 5 stars don’t seem like enough. Get your autographed copies now, people, this author is going to be rich and famous one day!

The Gypsy Pearl: Caren
The Gypsy Pearl: Caren
Price: $1.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can’t Wait to Read the Next One!, July 5, 2014
This book was aimed at pre-teens and teens, I believe, but it is just as interesting for adults. Talented author and a well-written book. I can’t wait to read the next story in the series and find out what happens from here!

Magian High
Magian High
Price: $2.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, July 5, 2014
This review is from: Magian High (Kindle Edition)
This was a great read. The teenage characters are so real, I felt like I was back in high school again. Anyone can appreciate this well written, suspenseful tale full of magic and mystery!


The Stranger
The Stranger
Price: $0.99

4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, June 14, 2014
This review is from: The Stranger (Kindle Edition)
The writing was spectacular, I couldn’t put the book down. Twists, turns, and surprises abound! Truly talented writer. The strange ending was the only let down– just not my “cup of tea”. I will be sure to read more from this author in the future.

Cinnamon Girl Explains It All
Cinnamon Girl Explains It All
Price: $3.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, December 26, 2014
This book was a page-turner! It was hard to put down, the characters were great, the plot was amazing, the mystery was hard to figure out until the very last second, and the writing was phenomenal. Only a few things would have made this better for me: clean up the bad language, the immoral “sleeping” arrangement, and hire a top-notch proofreader to catch the 10 or so typos throughout the book. Other than that, great read, and I look forward to see more from this author.

The Case of the Missing Hero (The Kitten Files Book 2)
The Case of the Missing Hero (The Kitten Files Book 2)
Price: $2.99

4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Story, November 28, 2014
Mia, the sarcastic cat who can write, returns to help her private eye owner in “The Case of the Missing Hero.” This book is cute, funny, and perfect for a reader of any age to enjoy!

Be Thou My Vision (Hymns of the West Book 2)
Be Thou My Vision (Hymns of the West Book 2)
Price: $2.99

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean Romance and a Cute Story, October 26, 2014
The storyline in this book was very cute. What happens when a spinster meets a lonely, overworked pastor of a small country church? (You can probably guess… 😉 ) Clean romance, good plot, interesting characters. It was neat to see how the characters and plot in this book connected to the characters and plot in the first book of this series. Can’t wait to see what Faith Blum comes up with for the next book! Keep up the great work!

The Last Vestal Virgin
The Last Vestal Virgin
Price: $2.99

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Plot, October 20, 2014
I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for my brutally honest review.
The idea behind this book and the plot line are both interesting. The dialogue is believable, and the characters are people you’d like to get to know. I don’t normally read books with ANY cursing or taking God’s name in vain, so that kind of stuff in this book made me wince since I thought it was a Christian book and wouldn’t have any of that in it. (I didn’t take any stars off for this since it was my own confusion.) The writing was mostly in “passive voice” (docked one star), and I prefer reading books written in “active voice”. The pacing felt too fast for me (docked another star)– everything happened without much reaction, then everyone just went on to the next scene or the next situation. A few things confused me, like when the MC started having a panic attack while talking to a guy from school before I knew that she was scared of guys. It would have made more sense if I had known about her fear before she started getting nervous because it made no sense at first. Little things like that bother me. I don’t like feeling confused in a story, and I guess I’m just picky. I hope Lorraine Carey keeps writing and coming up with more good ideas for her next book! Thanks for allowing me to read and review for you!

The Gypsy Pearl 2: Craggy
The Gypsy Pearl 2: Craggy
Price: $2.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, October 19, 2014
This book was amazing! I didn’t want to stop reading. It’s amazing how Lia London can make me visualize planets, people groups, animals, and plants that I’ve never seen before because they don’t exist. I got invested in the believable characters, and I can’t wait to see how everything ties together in book #3. Very talented author!

Julia the Secret Blogger
Julia the Secret Blogger
Price: $2.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Franky Brown Does It Again!, September 24, 2014
The fun, spunky, and downright quirky characters from Julia The Secret Keeper come alive again in this easy-going, hilarious sequel! You won’t be able to put the book down, and you’ll love trailing along with the crazy life that comes with the territory of being college student and secret blogger, Julia Fairfield! Love the Julia books, love the larger than life characters, love how everything ties together in the end for a big secret surprise!

Courageous Heart (New Beginnings, Book 1)
Courageous Heart (New Beginnings, Book 1)
Price: $2.99

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has Something For Everyone, September 10, 2014
This was an interesting book. Kept me guessing who the culprit was until the very last second. It had everything: a little romance, a little mystery, a little sass, a little attempted murder. Simple, no frills, get-to-the-point writing style, which helps the story move along quickly and enjoyably.

Julia the Secret Keeper
Julia the Secret Keeper
Price: $0.99

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book!, August 29, 2014
This book was funny, cute, and I could completely relate to a lot of the situations and scenarios since I have severe food allergies like the main character. It was clever how every chapter was named after a food Julia couldn’t eat. There was only one curse word in the book, but everything else was completely clean and appropriate for teens and older. This is a must read, and I can’t wait for the next book to come out to find out what Julia will be up to next!

The Case of the Tabloid Tattler (The Kitten Files Book 1)
The Case of the Tabloid Tattler (The Kitten Files Book 1)
Price: $2.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Cute, Short and Sweet!, August 19, 2014
Such a cute story. Kept me guessing who the culprit was until the very end of the story. Even though I thought I’d solved the mystery early on, I was wrong. I hope there will be many more “Kitten Files” books to come! Great, interesting characters, and attention-grabbing plot. Probably meant for kids and teens, but will also please those who are kids at heart. The whole story was written from the cat’s perspective– which gave it an interesting twist. Get this book for your grade school kids, you won’t be sorry! 🙂

Cycles (Cycles Series Book 1)
Cycles (Cycles Series Book 1)
Price: $0.00

4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, August 18, 2014
Great read for tweens/teens! This book was interesting and kept me turning the pages even when I had other things I should have been doing. I even considered breaking my own rule about not buying any books until I read all the free ones I’ve downloaded to read the sequel, but I resisted. The only thing I didn’t like was all the mystical/ magical/ talking to dead people stuff, but that’s just my personal taste. Well written, good plot, great characters, this whole series is going to be a winner!
Leave a Reply

