Ultimate Book Tag

I’ve been tagged in the “Ultimate Book Tag” by Author Franky Brown. Check out her blog here.

If you’re reading this and want to participate, consider yourself tagged by me and leave your blog address in the comments section!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car? No, but my brother always claimed to. I suspect now that it might have just been an excuse to get out of doing his homework…

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why? I just discovered author Jaye L. Knight this summer. Her book “Resistance” was the best fantasy book I’ve read, and she truly has the gift of creating a believable world.

3. Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer. Well, I’ve never read either, but I’ve watched one of the Harry Potter movies at a friend’s house. I think it was from the middle of the series too. I’m not into vampires or magicians, but if I had to pick one, I guess I’d go with the one that doesn’t suck your blood.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)? I don’t carry a book bag, but my purse is so jam packed full of stuff that my husband constantly complains he can never find anything in it.

5. Do you smell your books? I usually read on my Kindle. So…no.

6. Books with or without little illustrations? I’m a visual learner, so I find it helpful if there’s a map or a complicated family tree drawn out for me. Otherwise, I’d rather imagine everything else myself.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? Probably Harold and the Purple Crayon. I love the book when I was a child, but now reading it to my kid? I think the author could have written each sentence better.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share! My bus driver would make fun of me for reading on the bus on the way to and from school. I’d always have my nose in a Trixie Belden book, even though my bus ride was only 15 minutes long or so.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf? Intimacy with the Almighty by Charles Swindoll.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf? Probably a Bible commentary or an Encyclopedia Britannica; it’s a close race.

 11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author? I read better than I write– at least I read faster than I write. I’ve published about 16 books and plays so far, so I see myself continuing to be an author in the future.

12. When did you get into reading? I remember being obsessed with the Encyclopedia Brown series in third grade, but it was most likely before that.

13. What is your favorite classic book? Any Sherlock Holmes book.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English? I don’t know what my best subject was, honestly. I liked math, science, reading, writing. Anything but spelling and history…and gym, don’t even get me started on gym…

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do? Say thanks, then sell it online. 🙂

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games? I have no idea. I won’t read the Hunger Games books. I watched the first movie and I was so disturbed by it (and by the fact that people brought their children to the theater) that I won’t read or watch anything else to do with that series.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging? Procrastinating.

18. What is your favorite word? Glistering.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above? I don’t know the difference between the three. Does that make me all of the above? I have asthma and allergies, wore headgear, braces, glasses, and a back brace…and graduated in the top 2 of my class. You do the math.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why? Fairies won’t kill you…

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why? I believe angels are actually real because the Bible talks about them being created by God, so I’ll go with angels.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why? Neither, thanks.

23. Zombies or Vampires? I cannot tell you how much I hate zombies or the recent fascination with them in today’s culture. Can’t say I’m much more impressed with vampires either.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love Love triangle. I don’t even understand this question, so let’s leave it at that.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in? How about just full-on action books?

Leave a Reply

